Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /www/arjashahlawcom_608/public/wp-content/themes/enfold/framework/php/function-set-avia-frontend.php on line 637
Car accidents involving death or injury can result in terrifying criminal charges. This sentiment is even more prominent for individuals who made a mistake behind the wheel that changed their lives and the lives of others forever.
If law enforcement charged you with a vehicular crime after a car accident, reach out to a criminal defense lawyer in Arizona. She or he can devise a case strategy and explore your options.
Here are a few charges under which the State of Arizona prosecutes alleged crimes involving car accidents:
Types of Vehicular Crimes in Arizona
The below-listed crimes are typical examples of actions that may trigger legal action by the state’s justice department. Remember that you are innocent until proven guilty. Therefore, the information contained within each category is a real but defensible result.
Endangerment is the act of driving recklessly in a way that can cause a significant risk of injury or death to another person. It is a Class 6 felony which can result in the possibility of up to three years in prison.
Leaving an Accident Scene
It is an illegal act to leave the scene of a car accident in Arizona. This is particularly true for accidents involving death or injury. The state can even charge people for a hit-and-run crime in this scenario.
Leaving the scene of a car accident, in any case, is at least Class 5 felony. Penalties include up to 30 months in prison. Cases involving death or injury become a Class 3 felony. A conviction of this type can result in a prison sentence of up to nine years.
Negligent homicide charges are on the horizon for drivers who negligently cause the death of another individual. Typically, negligent homicide auto accidents in Arizona involve driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
Arizona’s justice system classifies negligent homicide as a Class 4 felony. Prison time includes up to 45 months in prison for a first-time conviction.
Aggravated Vehicular Assault
Hitting someone with your vehicle may result in aggravated vehicular assault charges. In short, it means that prosecutors believe the driver recklessly injured while operating a motor vehicle.
Aggravated vehicular assault charges are a Class 3 felony. Maximum prison time for a conviction may be as long as 15 years.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs occurs when your blood alcohol content (BAC) registers at a level .08% or higher. Jail time may include up to six months as well as fines and court courts for a first-time offense.
Unlawful flight is the act when a driver attempts to evade the pursuit of law enforcement. It is a Class 5 felony that carries a maximum prison sentence of up to four months and a fine of up to $750.
A vehicular crime in Arizona carries significant consequences for the person convicted of such a crime. Most often, people feel the burn of a vehicular criminal charge as it relates to economic and professional opportunities.
Schedule a Consultation Today
Consider discussing your criminal charges with Arja Shah Law. Our firm’s founder, Arja Shah, is a top criminal defense lawyer in Phoenix, AZ, known for her aggressive approach in defending clients. You can discuss your options with our team by calling (602) 888-0369 or sending us a message through our firm’s request form.