Anyone that is arrested for DUI or DWI in Arizona within seven years of a prior conviction is subject to a second offense DUI. There are two factors that must be in place for someone to be charged this way. First, they must have a blood alcohol content (BAC) between .08 and .149 (not greater than .15) at the time of the arrest, and they must have a previous DUI conviction in the last seven years. Arizona DUI laws are strict, so a second drunk driving charge is taken seriously. If you’re facing this type of offense, it’s important to contact an experienced DUI lawyer at Shah Law Firm for criminal defense legal representation today.
Penalties for Second Offense DUIs
A second offense misdemeanor DUI in Arizona carries various penalties including a minimum of 30 days (and up to 6 months) in jail, a minimum fine of $500 (up to $2,500), alcohol screening, fines and surcharges, driver’s license suspension, and a possible required ignition interlock device. Apart from these penalties, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 car insurance policy for 3 years. With the help of one of our experienced DUI lawyers, you may be able to plead to a lesser conviction.
Schedule a consultation to Discuss Second Offense DUIs in Arizona
Depending on the circumstances of your case, the outcome will be different. However, our legal team has years of experience representing those like you. We customize defense strategies to help you to defend your second offense DUI charges. Contact Shah Law Firm today to schedule a free initial consultation by calling 602-888-0369. We serve clients in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa, Tempe, Goodyear, and Apache Junction, AZ.