Types of Arizona Theft Charges and Penalties

Arizona statutes classify theft as either a misdemeanor or felony depending upon the value and circumstances surrounding the charges. While processing the case, courts take into account prior convictions, as well.

Different classes and charges lead to increasing punishment. It also provides ample opportunity to reduce or drop charges against you. While the information below is helpful, you should speak with a theft lawyer in Arizona if you have specific questions related to your case.

Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft Charges

Law enforcement charges individuals with a class 1 misdemeanor for property valued at less than $1,000. It is also the lowest level of theft offenses across the board. As with many legal aspects, this rule-of-thumb is not absolute. Firearm theft is one example of when a class 1 misdemeanor theft can be bumped up to a class VI felony.

A class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by up to six months in county jail with a fine that cannot exceed $2,500. You may also have to pay the victim restitution for the losses incurred if convicted.

Class 6 Felony Theft Charges

Theft charges with a value between $1,000 and $2,000 are designated as class 6 felony charges in Arizona. Penalties for this level of theft include a prison sentence between four months and two years. The court may impose a maximum fine of $150,000.

Class 5 Felony Theft Charges

Theft charges of property valued between $2,000 and $3,000 are designated as class 5 felony charges in Arizona. Penalties for this level of theft include a prison sentence between six and 28 months. The court may impose a maximum fine of $150,000.

Class 4 Felony Theft Charges

Theft charges of property valued between $3,000 and $4,000 are designated as class 4 felony theft charges in Arizona. Class 4 felony theft charges may also apply to engine or transmission theft, shoplifting, and two or more previous convictions within the past five years.

Class 4 felony charges in Arizona include a prison sentence from one year to three and three quarters years and a maximum fine of $150,000.

Class 3 Felony Theft Charges

Theft charges of property valued between $4,000 and $25,000 are designated as class 3 felony charges in Arizona. Penalties for this level of theft include a prison sentence between two and eight and three quarters years. The court may impose a maximum fine of $150,000.

Class 2 Felony Theft Charges

Theft charges of property valued $25,000 or more are designated as class 2 felony theft charges in Arizona. Penalties for this level of theft include a prison sentence between three and 12.5 years. The court may impose a maximum fine of $150,000.

Speak With an Arizona Criminal Defense Lawyer

The criminal procedure process can be intimidating to anyone facing theft charges in Arizona. When heading into the courtroom alone, you may feel like you are at the mercy of the court. That is why hiring a criminal defense lawyer is a good idea.

Consider working with Arja Shah Law. Firm founder, Arja Shah, is a leading theft attorney in Phoenix, AZ, known for her aggressive style and command of the law. Discuss your case with Ms. Shah by calling (602) 888-0369 or by sending her a message through the firm’s request form.