Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /www/arjashahlawcom_608/public/wp-content/themes/enfold/framework/php/function-set-avia-frontend.php on line 637
Domestic violence occurs when violence happens when someone is in a specific relationship with someone, whether a cohabitant, a spouse, or significant other, or co-parent. This offense requires the expertise of an experienced domestic violence attorney from Shah Law Firm. We have years of experience representing those that are facing domestic violence charges and fully understand all domestic violence laws in the State of Arizona. Generally, someone is charged with assault in these situations
About Assault Charges
Assault is defined as knowingly causing physical injury to someone, intentionally placing someone in fear of injury or knowingly touching someone with the intent to injure them. The penalty for domestic violence assault carries the same punishments as assault charges. Class one misdemeanors lead to up to six months in jail, fines up to $2,500 and possible probation. While a class 2 misdemeanor can result in up to four months in jail and fines up to $750 and probation, a domestic violence charge stays on your record for life.
Some possible defenses to domestic violence include self-defense. Many incidences are provoked, and the defendant felt they had to lash out to protect themselves. Our team of criminal defense attorneys can investigate your case thoroughly and devise a defense strategy that works best for your case.
Call to Speak to Our Legal Experts Today
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Arizona, it’s important that you have an experienced domestic violence attorney by your side. At Shah Law Firm, we offer free legal consultations. To schedule one, call our Arizona law office at 602-560-7408. We serve clients in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa, Tempe, Goodyear, and Apache Junction, AZ.